Blog

Check Support for New Daylight Savings Time

Apr 08, 2007 | 1 minute read
Share this:

Tag: DST

Although others already wrote about this very good tip, i found it so useful i though i must mentioned it here, too. It was first found on the great Y2K7 update? thread on the opensolaris-discuss forum on opensolaris.org.

Here is a live example running snv_56:

$ /usr/sbin/zdump -v ${TZ} | awk '$6 ~ /'"`date '+%Y'`"'/ {print $0}' | \
   grep -v "`date '+%a %b %e'`"
Europe/Paris Sun Mar 25 00:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 25 01:59:59 2007 CET isdst=0
Europe/Paris Sun Mar 25 01:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 25 03:00:00 2007 CEST isdst=1
Europe/Paris Sun Oct 28 00:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Oct 28 02:59:59 2007 CEST isdst=1
Europe/Paris Sun Oct 28 01:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Oct 28 02:00:00 2007 CET isdst=0

I can't think i miss this utility until today.